THE ANGEL BLOG TOUR

IMG_1312.JPG

TITLE: THE ANGEL
AUTHOR: KATERINA DIAMOND
PUBLISHER: AVON BOOKS
PUB DATE: Sept 21st 2017
Hello and welcome to IF IN DOUBT READ- I am so excited to be taking part today in the exciting #BlogTour for #TheAngel. Today I am happy to be able to share my thoughts on the book and am also including an extract.
Before that I would like to say a huge Thankyou to Sabah at AVON for the beautiful paperback copy that I had the pleasure of reading in order to write my review and also for the opportunity to take part.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Katerina is the author of the Sunday Times Best Selling crime thriller ‘The Teacher’, and number 1 kindle best selling novel ‘The Secret’.

Katerina currently lives in East Kent. Katerina was born in Weston-super-Mare and has lived in various places since including Greece, Cyprus, Derby, East London and Exeter.

THE BOOK BLURB…

THE TRUTH WON’T STAY LOCKED UP FOREVER

When a burned body is found in a disused signal box, suspicion falls on lonely teenager Gabriel Webb. There’s no doubt he was at the scene of the crime, but does he deserve what awaits him in prison?

DS Imogen Grey is certain there’s more to the case than meets the eye. But while she struggles to convince those around her of the truth, her partner DS Adrian Miles is distracted by his own demons.

When a brutal double murder is reported, their investigation is stopped in its tracks. Is the body in the box even who they thought it was? The duo realise Gabriel might have been locked up for a crime he didn’t commit. But with enemies watching Gabriel’s every move, they may be too late.

Miles and Grey are back in the thrilling new novel from bestselling author Katerina Diamond, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge, Orange Is The New Black and Locked up.

Extract:
pp79-80
Gabriel was working out in his cell at every opportunity he could get. The outside facility had been closed due to constant outbreaks among the inmates and the fact that on two occasions a drone had dropped suspect packages into the exercise yard. The prison was in the process of appealing for funds to stop this kind of thing. In the thirty minutes ‘bang-up’ time, Gabriel had worked his way to over a hundred press-ups in less than a week, marginal gains, adding an extra five onto every other set he did. When he’d arrived in jail, he’d barely been able to do a quarter of that without the asthma niggling at him. He figured his breathing was like any other muscle that needed to be stretched, and so he did ten rounds of twenty press-ups a day, pausing for breath in between.
He was just finishing up when the doors unlocked.
Roll call.
He noticed less and less people looking at him during roll call, which was a blessing. He was no longer the new guy, no longer unpredictable and unknown, he hadn’t done anything rash or exciting and so now he was no more interesting than anyone else. He sometimes wondered if they even knew he was there. Beside his brief interactions with Sol, everyone else stayed away from him. He would slip out and then back in without anyone so much as batting an eyelid. Just the way he wanted it. Roll call was over and he went back inside his cell.
‘Webb?’ Barratt said from the doorway.
Gabriel stood up immediately.
‘Yes?’
‘I believe you wanted one of these?’ Barratt held out a box with a brand-new radio in it. For the first time in a week, Gabriel smiled.

MY REVIEW:
‘ All hail the queen of crime’ … Indeed. It’s safe to say that Katerina Diamond has exploded onto my crime fiction radar with THE ANGEL. I raced through this racy, pacy gritty crime thriller in one readathon. And I challenge you to put this Dark, exquisitely written book down! It’s impossible. So Three cups of tea and a glass of wine later I was finished. WOW What an incredible example of truly brilliant crime fiction this definitely stands with the best within its genre.
If you love crime and thrillers or police procedural you need to read this book. Be aware some of the scenes are genuinely gruesome and distressing so you made need a very strong stomach but I was completely engrossed by the genuinely gripping plot and the cast of engaging characters. Grey and Miles are well rounded believable characters who really enhanced the read for me, I loved their dynamic. I also thoroughly enjoyed the race against time element and found myself jittery and almost nibbling my nails as the story evolved. Quite quickly after discovering the charred remains of a body the duo think they have their killer, Gabriel, a shy awkward teenager, but doubts set in and they agonise over sending him to prison for what may have been an accident. However as with all great crime fiction, it’s never that simple- cue another double murder and things really do start to get very interesting indeed especially when it seems that no link can be forged between the two. But as he pieces slowly start to slot into place It soon becomes obvious that their is is in fact a connection between the crimes and they race to solve the murders and find the real culprit before Gabriel comes to any harm. By this pointing could feel my heart pounding against my rib cage in response to the adrenaline surge I kept experiencing. Exactly what you want as a lover of crime thrillers.
This incredible story is quite original and uniquely told I really can’t recommend this author enough and now can’t wait to read her other titles. Her storytelling ability is second to none, brilliantly written and perfectly woven this cleverly plotted novel chockablock with more twists and turns than a strictly come dancing contestant and will grab you by the scruff of your neck and won’t put you down!!i urge you to go and by this book now- I can’t wait to hear what others thought of it.

Advertisements