IN A DARK DARK WOOD

imageTITLE: IN A DARK DARK WOOD

AUTHOR: RUTH WARE

THE SYNOPSIS:

Nora hasn’t seen Claire for ten years. Not since the day Nora walked out of her old life and never looked back.

Until, out of the blue, an invitation to Clare’s hen party arrives. A weekend in a remote cottage – the perfect opportunity for Nora to reconnect with her best friend, to put the past behind her.

But something goes wrong.

Very wrong.

And as secrets and lies unravel, out in the dark, dark wood the past will finally catch up with Nora.

:

MY REVIEW:

This book has received very mixed reviews on Amazon and despite it being the first Ruth Ware book I purchased I did end up reading THE WOMAN IN CABIN 10 first and having thoroughly enjoyed it I decided that I couldn’t wait to read another of Ruth Wares titles.

This book was as expected – Brilliant. I found it to be very well written, entertaining and there were so many twists and turns that I had to really focus to try to fathom who did it and why.

The big reveal at the end was very well done however I found the motive a little less plausible than I would have liked. That said I devoured the book and genuinely loved it! I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to my fellow readers- especially those who like a well plotted psychological thriller which is pacy and keeps you guessing and reassessing the whole way through!

The characters are all quite self obsessed and slightly annoying in the fact that they were quite stereotypical but I found that it only added to the slightly obnoxious atmosphere of a hen party populated by people who quite clearly shouldn’t have been reunited, if they had all been such great friends they would have all stayed in touch. The reason they didn’t is slowly revealed and heightens the intrigue. I also thought the setting was fantastic, it added the chill to thriller and heightened the sense of atmosphere brilliantly. The huge glass windows of the house  leaving them exposed as if on stage playing a part. It perfectly reflected the feelings of the protagonist who felt very exposed emotionally and they were all there really to enable the murder to take place.

Very easy to read. VERY well written and really entertaining!! In fact I enjoyed it so much that I  read THE LYING GAME which is Ruth’s latest title straight after and had a bit of a Ruth Ware fest and the other reviews will follow shortly.

Definately one of my new favourite authors, I loved the descriptive style of her writing , So I was Excited to discover that she is already working on the next book and one which I will no doubt purchase on release.

 

