LOVE AT THE ITALIAN LAKE BLOG TOUR

image

TITLE: LOVE AT THE ITALIAN LAKE

AUTHOR: DARCIE BOLEYN

PUBLISHER: CANELO

Good evening and welcome to my stop on the #LoveAtTheItalianLake blog tour! Today I am sharing an extract from the book to give you a taste of what it’s all about… I hope you enjoy!! 📖📖 To follow the tour and see what all the other amazing bloggers have to say check out the #above or follow the blog tour poster!!

THE SYNOPSIS:

Sophia Bertoni discovers her boyfriend in bed with another woman, and realizes her life is going nowhere. Leaving her high-pressure job, she travels to Italy to stay with her grandmother while she figures out her next move.

When Sophia – quite literally – bumps into devastatingly handsome Joe Lancaster her plans are turned upside down. As the two realize they’re both spending the summer in the same town, a love affair seems on the cards.

But Sophia and Joe are both burdened by family secrets. Despite their attraction, will the sun set on Sophia and Joe’s romance – or will they find love at the Italian lake?

THE

There were two voices: Lee’s and… a female. Perhaps he was watching TV in bed. The other voice was laced with an Australian accent.
Sophia exhaled and pushed the door open.
Then immediately wished that she hadn’t.
‘Oh. My. God!’ Her jaw dropped. The post slipped from her hand and landed on the cream carpet.
She took a step into the room, feeling the plush fibres of the Axminster beneath her naked soles.
‘I thought I’d come home after a very long day at work but it seems that I’ve actually just walked into the Playboy mansion.’
‘Sophia!’ A very-naked Lee sprang off the bed and grabbed a t-shirt from the floor, then clutched it to his groin. ‘I… thought you were working through tonight.’
‘Did you?’ Sophia looked from her boyfriend with his expensive-brown haircut, to the woman sprawled on her bed – who was also completely naked – except for a covering of whipped cream.
‘Yes… I… uh… this is, um…’
‘Jessica!’ The blonde spat from her prone position. ‘How many times, Lee?’
‘Well I didn’t think she was a pavlova, did I?’ Something bubbled inside Sophia but she couldn’t determine what it was. She didn’t feel like she was about to cry. Or scream. Or throw up.
Then it burst from her.
At first, just a snort, then a giggle, then full-on deep-in-her-belly laughter.
‘What are you laughing about?’ Lee frowned, his perfectly groomed mahogany brows meeting above his nose. He ran his free hand over his full beard, his pride and joy. He’d spent months perfecting the beard, then taking selfies so he could post them on Instagram with the hashtag hotbeardyguy. It had irritated Sophia at first, this technological form of vanity, but she’d grown immune to it after seeing that he’d posted over two hundred bearded selfies. What was the point in trying to make him change? She’d had a good look on the app and so many others were doing it, and garnering society’s approval, that it had become ‘the norm’. Although Lee’s excitement over likes did occasionally make her want to shave his face while he slept.
But now, Sophia noticed that he had whipped cream in amongst the hairs under his bottom lip and her stomach churned. Suddenly it wasn’t so funny.
‘This is just ridiculous, Lee. That’s why I was laughing. I come home from what was, quite frankly, a bloody awful day, exhausted and in need of a bath,’ her voice wobbled, ‘to find you in our bed with… with—’
‘Jessica!’
‘With Jessica… and I’m just stumped. I can’t quite believe this is happening.’ She rubbed her eyes as if that would make the spectacle disappear.
‘Er, could someone hand me a towel?’ Jessica asked. ‘This is actually really sticky.’ She held her hands out over her body and waved them up and down as if she expected someone to wipe it all away. Which is what Lee was presumably going to do… with his tongue. Sophia shuddered.
‘Of course. You’ve had my boyfriend, so why not one of my towels too?’ Sophia grabbed a fluffy purple towel from the radiator, then thrust it at the naked woman.
‘Look, Sophia, this isn’t what it—’
‘Don’t, Lee. Please don’t tell me it isn’t what it looks like because it really is. I don’t know how long it’s been going on but I did wonder why you’d taken to changing the bed recently instead of leaving it for the cleaner to do. Don’t look so surprised! She asked me if she could buy a few extra duvet sets to keep up with the almost daily bed changing. But I didn’t expect to come home to this…’ She gestured at the bed where Jessica was grimacing as she wiped her front clean, exposing far more of her than Sophia wanted to see. ‘I knew things weren’t exactly right between us. I just wish you’d said something, instead of cheating. I… I need a cup of tea.’ She turned and stomped out of the room.

 

