THE GOOD DAUGHTER BLOG TOUR

 

image.pngTITLE: THE GOOD DAUGHTER

AUTHOR: KARIN SLAUGHTER

ABOUT THE AUTHOr:

Karin Slaughter is the #1 internationally-bestselling author of more than a dozen novels, including the Will Trent and Grant County series and the instant New York Times bestsellers Cop Town and Pretty Girls. She has sold over 35 million books, making her one of the most popular crime writers today. She is passionate, no-nonsense, provocative, and is one of suspense fiction’s most articulate ambassadors. Her Will Trent Series, Grant County Series, and stand-alone novel Cop Town are all in development for film & television. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia. http://www.karinslaughter.com
THE SYNOPSIS:
Charlotte and Samantha Quinn’s happy small-town family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father – Pikeville’s notorious defence attorney – devastated. It left the family fractured, consumed by secrets from that terrible night.
Twenty-eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father’s footsteps to become a lawyer herself – the archetypal good daughter. But when violence comes to Pikeville again, Charlie is plunged into a nightmare. Not only is she the first witness on the scene, but it’s a case which can’t help triggering the terrible memories she’s spent so long trying to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime which destroyed her family nearly thirty years ago won’t stay buried for ever…

MY REVIEW:

I really am going to have to rave a bit about this one! I had never heard of the author before but this book started like a rocket, straight into the action and I was hooked.

This book opens graphically with a violent that far from gratuitous  is brilliantly written in a deeply descriptive way Karin. The way the author depicts the opening scenes is incredible, so accurate that the scenes are set to perfection! I had a few shocks that made me catch my breath and have to re read which is an element I love- if you can suddenly throw something at me that really shocks me because I didn’t see it coming – you have my attention.

This story is is pacy at times and a little slower at others but I believe this was well thought out .It allows the reader to get their breath back, reaccess and prepare for the next adrenaline rush. There’s plenty of intrigue in here as well as courtroom drama and you are kept guessing throughout, we know from the back page synopsis that there are secrets from the past and we watch the use unravel as the two daughters and father reunite together to fight the case of a school shooting. Karin hints that’s that not is all as it seems by offering the two sisters versions of events from the attack on them which killed their mother and set the scene effect my for explosive revelations. We watch how these past events have affected them all mentally and physically over the years and we see who Samantha and Charlie’s have become as a result of the trauma. Sam has serious health issues while Charlie’s marriage is in deep trouble.  I loved the switch of narratives, the differing perspectives really added strength in the unusual way the story is told.

Each and every character in this story is brilliantly depicted but my favorite had to be the father – Rusty, he is described as such an unusual character, with some funny mannerisms and a quirky sense of humour.

I also thought the way that the book is written invites a lot of pondering and is definitely thought provoking. I highly recommend this its gripping, well written and pacy, if you live intrigue and family drama and crime fiction this is a must. I will definitely be looking to read Karins other titles as a result.
Ok…. Now let’s Join Karin for a short Q and A session based around the book…

Welcome to IIDR Karin!

The Good Daughter deals with violence perpetrated by women, do you think it’s something we should write about more, and why?

The short answer is yes, we should write about it, because it’s something that happens in real life and our job as crime writers is to write about things in the real world. People tend to treat violent women as a one-off at best and an aberration at worst. I think it’s just wired into human beings to trust women more than men . I’ll never forget talking to a group of social workers once about child abuse, and I asked them what the worst cases they handled were, and they all got very quiet and very reflective and said that the cases involving female abusers were the ones that damaged their souls. These folks had seen some pretty horrific crimes in their time, but the stories they shared about women brought tears to their eyes. So, I’ll speak in general terms about violent women, because obviously there are exceptions—

Unlike men, women don’t tend to strike out in a physical way when they are angry. Their default it to turn that anger on themselves—you see this manifested by cutting behavior or eating disorders—but when the anger is turned outward, it tends to get very dark and very psychological very quickly. Think about this: a woman’s choice of murder tends to be poison. What must it take to sit across from a person every night and watch them eat what you know is poison? And then to pretend to take care or nurse your victim when they fall ill and eventually die?

Who would you like to play Samantha and Charlotte Quinn in a movie adaptation of The Good Daughter?

This is a really hard one. I’m always loathe to say because readers have such firm opinions about who a character is in their heads, and if I said “Nicole Kidman,” they’d likely scream very loudly (though, now that I think about it, Nicole Kidman is fantastic…) Anyway, I think I’ll keep silent on this one and let others let their imaginations run rampant. Except for Ben, because he’s totally Adam Scott)

You’re touring the UK soon, what’s your favourite thing about Britain?

Well, obviously it’s Nando’s. Oh, and all the art and history and the people but that’s behind Nando’s (even though I’m mad at them because I kept my loyalty card and I had all these points and I packed it for my last trip and I got there and it had expired the month before. WTF, Nando’s?)

Who are your literary heroes and why?

Scarlett O’Hara was my first hero. I love how Margaret Mitchell introduces her: “Scarlett O’Hara was not beautiful…” Who does that?! What balls to take the one thing that women are always supposed to strive for—physical beauty—and just say (to paraphrase) “Fuck that. It doesn’t matter, because she is awesome anyway!”

I was thinking about Atticus Finch, another hero, when I wrote the character of Rusty in the Good Daughter—not just the Atticus we know from To Kill a Mockingbird, but the one from Go Set a Watchman, too. Lee ultimately chose to show Atticus through the lens of a young girl who still believes her father is a saint. In Watchman, I think we see him for closer to who he is—a flawed human being who is trying to do the right thing, but who also understands that sometimes the right thing for himself and his family is the more expedient path.

With Charlie, you get that sense of wonder she still has with her dad, where she yearns for him to be that first Atticus, but then it comes crashing down and she realizes that he’s more of the second Atticus. She is at once his biggest critic and his staunchest defender. There are several moments in the book where she goes back and forth between the two in a matter of paragraphs. I think a lot of daughters feel this way about their dads. They want them to be perfect, and they are crushed when they’re not, but then they want them to be perfect and the circles keeps rolling on.

