ABANDON

image

TITLE: ABANDON

AUTHOR: BLAKE CROUCH

THE BACK PAGE BLURB…

On Christmas Day in 1893, every man, woman, and child in a remote gold-mining town disappeared, belongings forsaken, meals left to freeze in vacant cabins—and not a single bone was ever found.

One hundred sixteen years later, two backcountry guides are hired by a history professor and his journalist daughter to lead them to the abandoned mining town so they can learn what happened. Recently, a similar party had also attempted to explore the town and was never heard from again. Now the area is believed to be haunted. This crew is about to discover, twenty miles from civilization with a blizzard bearing down, that they are not alone, and the past is very much alive.

MY REVIEW…

Ok so the first thing I need to say is this wasn’t quite what I expected- from the book description I thought it was going to be a haunting/ paranormal thriller set around the ghost town of Abandon. But it wasn’t…

BUT- Once I realised this and got over the disappointment, it was an exceptional book and one of the best stories I  have read in recent years!

The cover of this book is so chilling I knew instantly I was going to read this… How eerie is that image?

Ok so- Abandon is  a story told  through two timelines 1893 and 2009. Over the course of the book we learn what happened to the inhabitants of Abandon when they vanished without a trace on Christmas day and in the modern narrative we follow an expedition who travel to Abandon, however the reason for their trip isn’t quite what it seems and several of those who lead the expedition have different reasons for being so interested in the old mining town- putting all their lives in danger!

This is a high octane thriller packed full of heart pounding moments, unexpected situations and so many twists and turns there was no way you could see what was coming next! On several occasions the author threw in something that was such a shock that I had to take a breath, pause and re-read the passage! A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!

I literally couldn’t put this book down, the descriptive style of writing took me right in to the heart of the story and I thoroughly enjoyed the fact the setting for this story was somewhere very different from the norm. I love snow and get very excited by Inclement weather so blizzards, freezing temperatures and life threatening conditions only enhanced this read for me.

The dual narrative also ensured that this story unfolded slowly, we learn a little more about what was going on in the historic thread only to be left on a bit of a cliff hanger while we jump forward to modern day events. It was brilliantly executed and for such a complex plot with so many shockers it was superbly written, strong and clear – leaving no room for confusion! The attention to detail and the research that this book must have demanded gave me all the more admiration for this incredibly talented author.

Incant rave about this one enough!! I bloody loved it and definitely  have a book hangover after this epic adventure. Black Crouch is one talented author and I am now excited to read any other titles by him.

ABANDON is free to Kindle unlimited subscribers but if you’re not the few pounds that the download costs is worth every. Single. penny!

If you love a book that thrills you from start to finish, is clever with an unpredictable plot and with a satisfying ending read this!! I would love to hear from anyone who has read this or who does as a result of reading my review!

 

