BLOG TOUR- SUMMER AT THE DOG AND DUCK

                                  JILL

TITLE: SUMMER AT THE DOG AND DUCK

AUTHOR: JILL STEEPLES

PUBLISHER: ARIA

THE SYNOPSIS…

Ellie Browne has found happiness running The Dog and Duck pub in the idyllic village of Little Leyton, and her blossoming romance with tall, handsome property developer, Max Golding, is going swimmingly. With her new best friend, Digby, the black Labrador at her side, life just couldn’t be sweeter.

But their peace is shattered when Max’s younger sister, Katy, turns up unannounced with a whole heap of attitude. And Max’s loyalties are stretched further when his glamorous ex, Sasha, re-appears with her own burgeoning secret.

With the master of the manor preoccupied with the demands of his ‘other women’, Ellie’s forced to consider if she has any role to play in Max’s life or in the village of Little Leyton.

Can Ellie get her life and relationship back on track in time for the summer charity ball at Braithwaite Manor?

MY REVIEW…

I read this book sitting in the sunshine and I must say it was a couple of hours blissfully spent.

‘Summer at the dog and duck’ is an easy, feel good read that evokes the Cosy,nostalgic fuzzy tummy type feeling that makes this genre so appealing if done well. And done well it certainly was- conjuring up images of quaint country pubs set against the backdrop of glorious English  countryside. I loved it ❤️

What made it extra special for me were the two central characters Ellie and Max. They make a lovely couple and enjoy a normal everyday relationship with all its ups and downs and trials and tribulations. But both come across as genuine, warm people who are involved and interested in those around them. But what I loved most was that neither of them are a pushover, they are both strong minded individuals who have an honest relationship and speak their peace. I read this book in just one sitting. It has a strong storyline and things start to get really interesting, when Max’s ex makes an appearance, as could be expected not the most welcome of visitors and bound to set the cat among the pigeons but she has an agenda and when she delivers some shocking revelations it really puts Ellie and Max’s relationship to the test. So how about on top of that Max’s sister arrives weighed down with baggage ( and by that I don’t mean suitcases and overnight bags), but the emotional, daily variety. Ellie and Max’s life is thrown upside down and I found myself rooting for them all the way. I felt really sorry for them trying to deal with all that was going on and poor Max trying to keep three women happy!!

But Ellie was hands down my favourite character she is a lovely, warm honest genuine and sympathetic but also no pushover.. Someone I would love to be friends with in real life! All this is set in a gorgeous little country pub at the heart of a close knit community and there are a few surprising revelations and lots to keep you riveted. So whether it’s to curl up in bed with, read on your flight or beside the pool I would highly recommend this title … It’s the second in a series and I would say if you can read them in sequence. I didn’t and it works fine as a standalone but in hindsight I really wished I had read the other first as it would have built up the characters for me and allowed me to get to know them all even more.

Jill Steeples is an accomplished writer and she drew me in to Ellie and Max’s world and I couldn’t help but fall in love with ‘The Dog and Duck’  – if only I could nip in for an ice cold beer it’s so hot out their today!!

A 4 .5 star ⭐️ read from me and highly recommended for any avid readers of fab well- written women’s fiction.

