BLOG TOUR… THE MAYFLY

image

TITLE: THE MAYFLY

PUBLISHERS: BONNIER ZAFFRE

AUTHOR: JAMES HAZEL

image

Good afternoon! Welcome to my stop on the exciting #TheMayfly blog tour! I am thrilled to be taking part on such an exciting tour so a big Thank you to Emily Burns for at Bonnier Zaffre for the ARC copy and the opportunity!

Today I am sharing  my review of what was for me an incredible novel. But first let’s start with the blurb..

THE SYNOPSIS:

Its Happening again…

Charlie Priest, ex-detective turned lawyer, is hired by influential entrepreneur Kenneth Ellinder to investigate the murder of his son. But Priest is no ordinary lawyer. Brilliant, yet flawed, this case will push him, and those closest to him,  to the edge.

Priest traces the evidence back to the desperate last days of the Second World War. Buried in the ashes of the Holocaust is a secret so deadly it’s poison threatens to destroy the very heart of the establishment.

As Priest races to uncover the truth, can he prevent history from repeating itself?

MY REVIEW…

I was excited to get my hands on the gorgeous paperback copy after hearing some incredible feedback from fellow reviewers. On social media. So when I was offered the opportunity to read and review as part of the official #blogtour I was thrilled.

I had a feeling that this was going to be an incredible read and it was! The Mayfly is a cleverly written and compelling story that has been brilliantly plotted. It will grab your attention from page one,  where the reader is thrown into the action as the book opens with some graphic scenes. A  gruesome murder,  swiftly followed by an attack on Charlie Priest in his own home sets the tone for the flow and pace of this action packed thriller. With plenty of hold your breath moments it the. hurtles along at breakneck speed. And be warned of you like an early night DO NOT PICK UP THIS BOOK at bedtime! It’s very hard to put down, and I became guilty of ” just one more chapter” and then another and then another and read into the early hours- whoops!!

James Hazel proves himself to be a highly accomplished writer who expertly weaves a complex and compelling storyline with a cleverly orchestrated plot that have obviously been painstakingly and carefully  researched. I thoroughly enjoyed the way he interwove the present day with the Second World War in a successfully orchestrated dual timeline, which  I found easy to follow and added intrigue to the story arc. I also found the theme of the Holocaust and the concentration camps absolutely fascinating ( as well as harrowing) as its a subject I haven’t read much about. The main protagonist ex- detective turned lawyer Charlie Priest is a fantastically flawed and utterly impressive character and really adds depth and credibility to this incredible debut, which I found flawless. I would definitely love to read more involving this character and enjoyed his development throughout the course of the novel. Aside from Charkie Priest, there are a plethora of intriguing ( definitely NOT all likeable!) but all contribute to the success of The Mayfly. It’s a stunning fast paced corker of a read and I cannot recommend enough. I can’t thing of one negative point to make and was sad to turn the last page, but conversely I didn’t want to put it down and found myself so engrossed from start to finish, that I did race through the pages.

 

 

