🏝👰🏼🎩THE HONEYMOON🎩👰🏼🏝

imageTITLE: THE HONEYMOON

AUTHOR: TINA SESKIS

PUBLISHER: PENGUIN BOOKS

PUBLICATION DATE: JUNE 1ST 2017

THE SYNOPSIS:

For  as long as she can remember, Jemma has been planning the perfect honeymoon.

A fortnight’s retreat to a five-star resort in the Maldives, complete with luxury villas, personal butlers and absolute privacy.

It should be paradise. But it’s turned into a nightmare.

Because the man she married a week ago has just disappeared from the island without a trace. And now her perfect new life is vanishing just as quickly before her eyes.

After everything they’ve been through together, how can this be happening? Is there anyone on the island who Jemma can trust? And above all- where has her husband gone?

MY REVIEW:

I had been spotting this title ALL over social media and although I had pre- ordered it, when I saw that there were a few more review copies available I jumped with grabby hands because I knew this would be ( rather naughtily) bumped right to the top of my TBR pile.

What was it that appealed to me so much? The title and the gorgeous tropical palm cover attracted my attention straight away- I love an intriguing title and the cover plays a huge part in piquing my interest in reading a title. This ticked all the boxes and the synopsis had me almost squealing in delight!!

The next thing you are probably all thinking is did it live up to my expectations and the answer is…

YES! YES! YES! And then some…

I’ve read tons of amazing titles this year but some just blow you away and are stand out books. This is without doubt one of my top reads in a long time.

The book is beautifully written, I love descriptive narrative and Tina is a master at laying down words on the page that depict so accurately the scene  or emotion and it’s done poetically. I love her style of writing.  Some of her analogies were so amazing I had to re-read them a couple of times. Her writing is stunning, but it also hits the point home!

The Honeymoon is written from multiple points of view and jumps between two time frames. The present day and then right back seven and a half years to lay the foundations for what’s to come. Here we get the back story follow the path to how Jemma ( the main protagonist) got to where she is now. Every chapter that goes back brings us nearer and nearer until we reach the present day. It kept it interesting and every chapter left me on tenterhooks so I literally couldn’t put this down and read way beyond my bedtime until I literally couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore! I love a book like that… I was kept thoroughly engaged from page one which opens with the most beautiful description of the sea…

 

I gaze at the sea, and it is a wondrous, ever-shifting patchwork of paint-box Blues…

I enjoyed every single word that Tina wrote, devoured every page and was left reeling, with a few twists and turns before the mother of all surprises. The book is superbly plotted and never becomes confusing , the story opens up to reveal itself so perfectly  and at such a great pace that although you are left in a complete and utter quandary over what happened to The missing husband, you can follow the POV and timeframes without any problem.

So if you enjoy a brilliantly written psychological thriller then this bad boy IS for you! So many predictable twists but Not here!!! Oh no! It’s thrilling, pacy, relentless and whip smart… 🙌🏼🙌🏼

I really loved the tropical location and thought this was described perfectly. The detailed depiction of the surroundings truly transported me there and it was utterly thrilling that the descriptions made me feel that there was a darkness lurking there and the idyllic setting was tainted with fear and something terrible. All the way through I was trying to figure out what on earth was going on and Tina keeps the mystery going, and going and going. At no point is it predictable and at no point is it confusing just brilliantly, magnificently clever, packed full of suspense and intrigue and the the epitome of a ‘ page- turner’.

The characters are well drawn, cleverly depicted and although at times thoroughly dislike  they are all believably human and they enhance the storyline perfectly.

Tina Seskis is on hell of a writer, I’ve already downloaded her other titles and can’t wait to read them.

If you only buy one book this month make it THE HONEYMOON – it will be the best money you spend- I can’t praise it enough it’s a full five star rating from me.

I can’t stop thinking about it!!

buy! Buy! Buy!

 

 

