TROLL BLOG TOUR AUTHOR Q AND A

TROLL BLOG PERSONALISED XX.pngTITLE: TROLL

AUTHOR: D.B THORNE

PUBLISHER: CORVUS BOOKS

PUBLICATION DATE: 1 st JUNE 2017

Follow the on Twitter #TROLL @corvusbooks

image.png

Firstly I would like to thank the amazing Corvus books for sending me a gorgeous arc copy of this title and offering me the opportunity to kick off this incredibly exciting blog tour for D.B THORNE’S new title TROLL….

image.jpeg

Today I am going to share the back page blurb of this modern psychological thriller that will have you squirming in your seats!! Prolific on social media- then read this and be afraid! VERY afraid…

BECAUSE MONSTERS WHO LIVE ONLINE DONT ALWAYS STAY THERE….

Years ago, Fortune gave up on his daughter, Sophie, after a troubled adolescence. Now she’s gone missing, vanished without a trace. And after weeks of investigation, the police have given up on her, too.

Driven by guilt, and a determination to atone for his failures as a father, he takes on the search himself. He soon finds that his daughter had been living in fear of a vicious online troll who seemed to know far too much about her. Could Sophie’s disappearance be linked to this unknown predator? Fortune is about to discover that monsters which live online don’t always stay there…

So now you know a little more about what the titles all about lets learn a little bit more about the author behind the title… A very big warm welcome to D.B Thorne.

Welcome to IF IN DOUBT READ, its amazing to host you on my book blog! Firstly can I ask that all important question…

What inspired you to become a writer?
Thank you so much for having me, I’ve worked as a writer for years, first in advertising, then TV comedy, and now as a novelist. I guess my initial inspiration, as an advertising writer, was to make a living out of university. My career since then has been a progression from writing purely for money to writing purely for creative satisfaction, which is where I am now.

How would you describe your writing style and was it easy to find your ‘ voice’ when writing?
Given my background, this was actually quite difficult because I’m used to writing in all kinds of different voices. In advertising, I’d be writing for British Airways one week, Tango the next, which are completely different kinds of writing. And again, with comedy, that would involve all kinds of different voices. So finding my own voice was a bit tricky. I think it’s probably influenced by my favourite kind of writing, which is American crime fiction, the harder-boiled the better. I consciously tried to distance myself from the slightly domestic-sounding crime style that’s current in Britain, and go for something a little harder-edged.

Can you name three of your favourite reads and what it was that you loved about them or how they inspired you?
1. The Road Home by Jim Harrison, because I love his writing – poetic, profound, full of humour. It’s a sprawling family epic of the mid-West, but that hardly matters. I’d read Jim Harrison’s guide to flat-pack furniture, frankly, just to enjoy his unique and wonderful voice.
2. A Perfect Spy by John le Carré – it’s half spy novel, half Bildungsroman, and full of contradictions, the main one (in my opinion) being that it is simultaneously one heck of a page-turner, and also a gobsmackingly brilliant postmodern exploration into the unreliability of both identity and narrative.
3. Into Thin Air, by Jon Krakauer, because it’s so insanely compelling – egos, hubris, heroes, villains, selfishness, selflessness, endurance, tragedy, it’s got the lot. I read it on a plane from Nepal. I’m scared of flying, but with this to read, I was too engrossed to be scared. It reads like a novel (often said about non-fiction, usually a lie) and the best thing is, no matter how unreal a lot of it sounds, it actually happened.

Where do you find inspiration for your stories and characters?
People I meet. I try to find inspiration in people, because they’re a lot more interesting than stories you read in the news. If a good plot can be inspired by somebody’s character, their hopes or fears, I think it makes for a more compelling read.

Do you have a favourite place to write?
My study. I say favourite, it’s just where my desk is. It’s also a bit of a corridor to the kitchen, so it’s not very quiet. I keep meaning to build a shed at the bottom of my garden, but haven’t got around to it. I slightly worry that if I ever did build it, I’d never see my family again.

Tea or coffee?
I drink about five cups of coffee in the morning, and about five cups of tea in the afternoon, so both. I suspect that I drink too much coffee.

Sweet or savoury?
Savoury.

What are your top three tips for aspiring writers?
The first one is obviously write. Just write, and write a lot, because (certainly in my case) it took thousands and thousands and thousands of words before I got good at it. Second, keep writing – you’ll probably have a lot of knock backs and rejection, because that’s mostly what writing is. And third, have a thick skin. The thicker the better. Mine is really, really thick by now.

What is your favourite part of writing, and is there any aspect that you struggle with?
If I love the idea, and the characters, then I enjoy it all – beginning, middle and end. When I struggle is when I realise that I’ve got an enormous plot hole which I hadn’t thought of, and spend days on end thinking of plausible ways to dig myself out of it. That’s the worst part.

Can you describe your journey from concept to publication?
I’ll have an idea, and run it by my agent and editor. If they think it’s worth pursuing, I’ll write it up as a proposal, a page or two describing the story and the characters involved. Once that’s agreed, I’m pretty much on my own until I have a first draft completed. I try to plot it as much as I can, usually to about halfway through the book – I find that the characters and story takes on a life of its own after a while, and heads off in directions I hadn’t planned, and in fact couldn’t have. So I let it develop organically as I write. I never know what the ending is going to be until about two thirds of the way through. Then I send my editor the first draft and she will give me some suggestions (or frank opinions) which are usually all addressed in a second draft.

And finally, are you working on a new project? If so can you tell us anything about it?
I am, but I can’t, except to say that it’s a psychological thriller, and I think it’s got promise!

