EXQUISITE

image

TITLE: EXQUISITE

AUTHOR: SARAH STOVELL

PUBLISHER: ORENDA

PUBLICATION DATE:

THE SYNOPSIS:

‘ She stopped crying and looked at me, silent, her blue eyes fixed upon me. I shuddered. I thought, I am in the presence of evil.’

Bo Luxton has it all- a loving family, a beautiful home in the Lake District, and a clutch of bestselling books to her name.

Enter Alice Dark, an aspiring writer who is drifting through life, with a series of dead end jobs and. A free loading boyfriend.

When they meet at a writers’ retreat, the chemistry is instant, and a sinister relationship develops…

OR DOES IT?

MY REVIEW:

Oh. My. God that feeling when you read a book that reminds you why you love reading! The new name on the block is Sarah Stovell and boy can this lady write. She writes so fluidly, so delectably that the words are  like a delicious wine I savoured every one of them

This book is not only beautifully written. It is flawless.

I warn you… Start this book and you won’t rest until it is finished. Talk about psychological thriller!! It’s everything you could dream of in a thriller and then some… This dark, claustrophobic tale of obsessional love is told between the two main characters Bo Luxton and Alice Dark. These characters are both beautifully flawed and unbalanced and will haunt me forever. It is a frightening look at how people damaged by their past can be dangerous people to meet, that they will ultimately manipulate, lie and ruthlessly destroy you, while remaining so Cold and emotionless you start to question your own sanity.

The stunning narrative combined with these incredible characters and a  geniously clever premise that is delivered to perfection will B.L.O.W Y.O.U.R M.I.N.D and is without a doubt one of the most thrilling books I have ever read. This is the epitome of a page turner. The  alternating POV between the two characters short chapters keep this story moving a pace and things unfold quickly.

When Alice Dark an aspiring author in a dead end relationship and a very troubled past meets the beautiful successful author Bo Luxton on a writing retreat she is instantly enthralled by the older woman, and from there on in develops a dangerous, forbidden love and obsessional attraction between the two women that leaves you reeling. Nothing is what it seems or is it? The twists just keep coming at you, stealing your breath and you are left guessing long beyond the last page. I think the author took the idea that people build conclusions based on their initial impressions of people and wove a tale that will serve as a reminder that you can NEVER judge a book by its cover ( although I knew this would be a corker from the moment I saw it’s gorgeous design!!)

This author is definately one to watch, her writing is. ‘ exquisite’ and I think her voice is so unique, she breaks with some of the traditional ‘ rules’ of writing and proves that rule are meant to be broken as the results are enthralling. I cannot recommend this incredible book enough and will be raving about it for years to come. As a writer I found her style, her voice and her delivery nothing but inspiring and I can’t wait to see what she produces next!

 

 

 

 

 

