💭👤👤MR MAKE BELIEVE -BLOG TOUR-👤👤💭MEET THE AUTHOR!

image.jpegTITLE: MR MAKE BELIEVE

AUTHOR:BEEZY MARSH

PUBLISHERS: IPSOBOOKS

PUBLICATION DATE :APRIL, 27th, 2017

Welcome to my stop on the exciting MrMakeBeleive tour, today I am lucky enough to host the Beezy in a Q and A session here on IF IN DOUBT READ! I would also like to thank the publishers for my advance copy!

For anyone wondering what the lo-down is on this brand spankin new title… Heres a quick overview of  Mr Make Believe…

Marnie Martin’s formerly perfect life is not quite going to plan.

Hard-hitting newspaper journalist turned stay-at-home mum and part-time failing food columnist, Marnie is wondering when her life went so wrong.

While her husband Matt’s career takes off, she’s left with the impossible task of pairing socks and locating Lego. His late nights at the office are turning into late nights who knows where else and they haven’t had a proper conversation in weeks, sex in months, or a full night’s sleep in years.

On the brink of losing everything when a fantasy about movie star Maddox Wolfe leads to a missed deadline and a disastrous case of food poisoning, Marnie becomes Mrs Make Believe: anonymous blogger, secret spiller, and voice of imperfect mums everywhere.

However, Marnie Martin could never have imagined that her movie star daydream would walk off the screen and into her reality, turning her already muddled world totally on its head.

Will Marnie find happiness in the arms of the (literal) man of her dreams? Or will she find that true love is just make believe?

And a little more about the author..

Biography

Beezy Marsh is an award-winning journalist, who has spent more than 20 years making the headlines in newspapers including The Daily Mail and The Sunday Times.

This was never going to be enough for a girl from Hartlepool, whose primary school teacher told her to give up her dream of becoming a poet and concentrate on being a nurse instead. Thirty years later, give or take, she became an author.

Her first novel, MR MAKE BELIEVE, will be published by Ipso Books in April 2017. It charts one imperfect mother’s attempts to find the key to lasting romance, with the help of daydreams about a hunky actor and an internet blog about her life, which catapults her to stardom and into his arms. Will living the dream provide the answers she seeks or is true love just make believe?

Her biography of legendary gangsters Mad Frankie Fraser and his bank robber sons follows the family’s 100 years on the wrong side of the law. MAD FRANK AND SONS, published by Pan Macmillan, has been optioned for a film by Bill Kenwright Productions Ltd.

The memoir KEEPING MY SISTER’S SECRETS, tells the moving story of three sisters born into poverty in 1930s London and their fight for a survival through a decade of social upheaval and the Second World War. It will be published by Pan Macmillan on July 27th 2017

Beezy is married, with two young sons, and lives in Oxfordshire with a never-ending pile of laundry. Read her LIFE-LOVE-LAUNDRY blog and get latest book news at http://www.beezy-marsh.com

Follow Beezy on Twitter @beezymarsh

Hi Beezy, Welcome to IF IN DOUBT READ and thank you for taking the time to answer my questions…

I love your Life-Love-Laundry blog, and particularly enjoy your ‘How do you sleep’ article, as a tired mother of a toddler I could completely relate to it and it really made me laugh… So my first question is…

How do you find time to write in between parenting?
Thank you so much for having me on your blog! I have worked as a journalist for more than 20 years and I think that was good training for getting down to writing immediately, often with very little time to spare. It was very difficult when my kids were tiny – there were times I would have to set my alarm to make sure I didn’t get too absorbed and miss their nursery pick up. That was very much how I started out writing, little by little. I also felt guilty – if I had an idea and wanted to scribble it down, would it mean I was ignoring their needs or missing out on being with them? There is no answer to that; I think mums, by nature, just get on and juggle several different roles at once.
Do you have a special place you like to work on your writing?
As long as I have a desk and a computer, I’m fine. I started out writing Mr Make Believe in a tiny box room in our house in London. Then we moved to the country for my son’s school because he is very dyslexic and I was writing in a room with a view of a wall. Now we are in another village and I have a lovely view over a field, which is nice, but I think as long as I have a bit of quiet somewhere, I’m ok.
Can you describe your style of writing?
I hope people will find my writing honest, to the point, pacy and perhaps funny. If I can keep you turning the pages, then I feel I’m doing a good job.
What inspired you to write Mr Make Believe, a fictional novel which is a new venture after penning two non-fiction books?
I am a mum, like you, and I always wanted to write an entertaining and romantic novel but also one that captured the madness of motherhood in all its glory. Often I would be standing in the kitchen with toddler and kid chaos all around thinking: “This should be in a book!”
I actually started writing about the character of Marnie Martin and her adventures back in 2011, long before my non-fiction books – the gangland biography Mad Frank and Sons and the historical memoir Keeping My Sisters’ Secrets, (both published by Pan Macmillan). While I was working on my novel and developing it into Mr Make Believe, the opportunity to came up to interview the legendary gangster “Mad” Frankie Fraser and his sons and, being a nosy journalist, I took it. Mad Frank and Sons led on to the historical memoir, which I wrote last year, while I was editing Mr Make Believe. So the two sides of my writing have always gone hand-in-hand. Sometimes the road to getting your book in print may take you down different but very fulfilling paths.
And lastly, what’s your favourite part when writing and are there any aspects you find more difficult than others?
Oh, I just love writing so much! It is never a chore. I find it thrilling to be able to get up every day and see where my characters will take me. I do find some of the editing process hard because you think you have finished, you deliver the manuscript – hurrah! – only to realise, a few weeks later, that it isn’t done yet. Sigh. But overall in my experience, good editing always makes things better.

MY REVIEW:

Sadly I haven’t had time to finish Me Make Beleive.. Yet! So I will be posting a full review when I have , but I’m 6 chapters in. And what I can tell you is it is witty, brilliantly observed ,skillfully written and I LOVE IT!! The analogies are hilarious!! As a mum in an often chaotic, disorganized house I could relate to our main character Marnie so well!! The over flowing wash basket, clothes not fitting me post baby and generally trying to hold it together!

Its laugh out loud funny and a real gem so I am excited to get back home tonight , snuggle up with a cuppa and read on!

Congratulations  Beezie, it was publication day yesterday so I hope you celebrated 🍾🍾 the launch of your amazing book!!

Be sure to follow this exciting book  tour…image

