🌑🔦🕯BLACKOUT🌑🔦🕯

forblog12

TITLE: BLACKOUT

AUTHOR: MARC ELSBERG

PUBLISHER: TRANSWORLD DIGITAL

DATE OF PUBLICATION: 15 th DECEMBER, 2016

THE SYNOPSIS:

Tomorrow will be too late.

A cold night in Milan, Piero Manzano wants to get home.

Then the traffic lights fail. Manzano is thrown from his Alfa as cars pile up. And not just on this street – every light in the city is dead.

Across Europe, controllers watch in disbelief as electricity grids collapse.

Plunged into darkness, people are freezing. Food and water supplies dry up. The death toll soars.

Former hacker and activist Manzano becomes a prime suspect. But he is also the only man capable of finding the real attackers.

Can he bring down a major terrorist network before it’s too late?

MY REVIEW:

Firstly thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for my copy of the book!

The moment I spotted this book on twitter and read the interesting review by a fellow book blogger. I headed straight over to net galley. The back page blurb,  and the review really piqued my interest and so I quickly requested it.

I was so excited to get my hands on it. I love anything disaster, end of the world or post apocalyptic ( Just call me a drama queen! ). I get a real thrill reading about how people cope in these situations, and how the infrastructure of society changes and friendships alter. It makes compelling reading/viewing, so this title sounded right up my street!

This novel is indeed a page turner but it isn’t quite the pacy, action packed read I had anticipated.. However thats no to say I was in anyway disappointed. Quite the opposite is in fact true.This is a terrifying and inteligent look at how our modern day infrastructure is so utterly and completely reliant on power. It also examines how computers which are usually the gateway to this infrastructure, can and will be hacked into by outsiders. As the book portrays perfectly the implications of disruption to this power are so far reaching, like a ripple effect, spreading so far and so wide, affecting life in a way I know I certainly hadn’t ever contemplated.

It is a thriller because the plausible,thought -provoking subject is written with intelligence, forensic attention to scientific detail and grips you because this is something that could and most likely will happen at some point.

I loved it, I think if a book stays with you long after you have finished the last page, leaves you wondering or questioning, discussing and assessing then its done its job.This is most definitely a book that does that. It educated and entertained me, and expanded my understanding of something that before I only had a vague awareness of. It was a book very much worth reading, and I would recommend highly to those of you who like disaster plots, with an element of mystery- It contains a race against time element and an adventure element as the hunt begins  to find the culprits and of re-establish the power.

Thrilling, horrifying, thought provoking and Intelligent… lets all hope this never happens!!

PURCHASE YOUR COPY HERE

 

 

 

