ALL THE MISSING GIRLS

image

TITLE: ALL THE MISSING GIRLS

AUTHOR: MEGAN MIRANDA

PUBLISHER: CORVUS

DATE OF PUBLICATION: FEB, 2nd 2017.

Thankyou to Netgalley and the publisher for allowing me to read pre- publication.

SYNOPSIS:

Its been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend Corrinne disappeared without a trace. Then a letter from her father arrives- ‘ I need to talk to you. That girl. I saw that girl’. Has her fathers dementia worsened, or has he really seen a Corrine? Returning home Nicolette must finally face what happened in that terrible night all those years ago.

Then, another young woman goes missing, almost to the day if the anniversary of when Corinne vanished. And like ten years ago, the whole town is a suspect.

Tokd backwards from day 15 to day 1 – Nicolette works to unravel the truth, revealing shocking secrets about her friends , her family and what really happened to Corrine.

MY REVIEW…

I LOVED this!! A tense, intriguing thriller that is emotionally and psychologically complex, it grabbed my attention and didn’t let go. The murder mystery unfolds over the course of 15 days and is told in reverse chronological order (the story is told backwards), which made for a very different read to all the other psych thrillers/ mysteries I have read recently. This could have become confusing but rest assured it didn’t proving  the author has expert control of the plot which is cleverly written and tightly woven.

Eloquent, descriptive and atmospheric. Miranda’s style of writing was impressive- I could feel the damp, oppressive heat of the weather and the claustrophobic feel of the atmosphere. It was gripping and brilliantly illustrated.

I never describe what happens in a book when I review it, because I believe it’s important for a reader to go in as I do, with just the synopsis and nothing more, otherwise it spoils the experience.

But I will say that I was hooked from page one, I enjoyed every page and although I was eager to find out what had happened to the missing girls, I also didn’t want to reach the end and experience the inevitable Book hangover you experience after a particularly great read.

The characters are all deliciously flawed and as we learn more about their relationships and history it becomes clear that the friendships were complicated and hints at an unhealthy dysfunction within their group dynamic, each are keeping each other secrets and all know each other very well and yet a lot goes unsaid. We have reasons to doubt each and every one of them- suspecting the all in turn! This really kept me guessing!  Theres  tension and plenty of it and it makes for a riveting mystery with twists and turns a plenty. It’s fast paced, intriguing and the story is just… Well a great one!

grab a glass of wine or a cuppa and grab this- if your a fan of thrillers/ mystery/crime related genre you will love this…

 

