📖BLOG TOUR📖THE JUNGLE

image

BLOG TOUR

TITLE: THE JUNGLE

AUTHOR: POOJA PURI

PUBLISHERS: BLACK AND WHITE

PUBLICATION DATE: 16th March 2017

THE SYNOPSIS…

There was a story Jahir used to tell me. About how the first humans were born with wings. Can you imagine what that would be like? To fly anywhere in the world without worrying about having the right papers?

Mico has left his family, his home, his future. Setting out in search of a better life, he instead finds himself navigating one of the world’s most inhospitable environments the Jungle. For Mico, just one of many ‘unaccompanied children’, the Calais refugee camp has a wildness, a brutality all of its own.

A melting pot of characters, cultures, and stories, the Jungle often seems like its own strange world. But despite his ambitions to escape, Mico is unable to buy his way out from the ‘Ghost Men’ the dangerous men with magic who can cross borders unnoticed. Alone, desperate, and running out of options, the idea of jumping onto a speeding train to the UK begins to feel worryingly appealing.

But when Leila arrives at the camp one day, everything starts to change. Outspoken, gutsy, and fearless, she shows Mico that hope and friendship can grow in the most unusual places, and maybe, just maybe, they’ll show you the way out as well.

MY REVIEW…

Welcome to the first stop of THE JUNGLE blog tour, I am honoured to be kicking off this exciting event and would like to thank the publisher for my ARC copy of the book.

Firstly let me say this is a bit of a deviation from my typical read, I generally read very widely but of late, have been so drawn to domestic/psychological thrillers that my TBR pile is toppling with them.

This novel provided a welcome break from my new ‘norm’ and having read the synopsis and having seen its beautiful cover, I was looking forward to delving into something different… Part of the reason I felt this way was that the premise of the story is so relevant in light of todays political agenda, Governments evolving policies with regard to immigration and the plight of asylum seekers/refugees and is a focal point of topical debate on the International media.

This is the story of Mico and his brave decision to leave all that he holds dear and all that is familiar to him in Kenya to go in search of a better life. The title takes its name from the inhospitable refugee camp in Calais known as The Jungle, we share his experiences and navigate the refugee camp as he struggles to survive in this hostile, overwhelming place.

Ultimately its the story of friendship, love, escape, survival as Mico shares his experiences, and we see the struggle through the person actually experiencing the journey, through a young refugees voice, we witness his truth not swayed by news agenda or political rhetoric.

My only small bugbear  is that I felt we needed more background to Mico, in order to fully engage with his character , to learn more details of his past in Kenya to help us to empathise on an even deeper level with his current situation and to fully understand the choices he made to leave.

However,

I enjoyed THE JUNGLE even more than I had envisaged.

The narrative is beautiful, rich and descriptive, transporting me deep into ‘The jungle’, bringing to life the sights, sounds and smells of the camp, Puris’ writing is intelligent,atmospheric and captivating. Well written but easy to read with a natural flow.

In many ways its a gentle a gentle piece of writing, political,emotional and though provoking not to mention highly relevant. For these reasons I think this is a ‘must read’ for young adults. In light of Brexit, the decision of some countries to close their borders and news coverage reporting only certain aspects of the situation, I think this would be a great book to kick start debate and encourage discussions in young peoples book clubs, schools and colleges. If added to school syllabus it could be a refreshing way for young people to be educated and informed through the medium of story. I know this is a fictional tale, but it reflects the situation eloquently and can be used as an example to illustrate the experiences of real life refugees, educational tool aside, as a stand alone read for nothing more than entertainment value and to enjoy a well written story, The Jungle gets the thumbs up from me.

I will certainly be encouraging my teenage son to borrow my copy!

Thankyou for taking the time to read my review and visit my blog, please be sure to sign up in the bottom right hand corner to catch my posts. In the meantime please continue to follow the tour using the hashtag the jungle @Poojapuriwrites @inkroad and enjoy xxx

