RAPID FIRE BOOK TAG

imageThanks so much to Nicola Smith at SHORT BOOK AND SCRIBES Blog for nominating me for the Rapid Fire Book Tag. Pop over and have a look at her blog and give her a follow on Twitter.com/ShortBookScribe

So to my answers to the tag:

EBOOKS OR PHYSICAL BOOKS?
I have always been a ‘proper’ book girl, loving the weight and feel of a physical book, but, my new kindle fits in perfectly with my lifestyle, so I would now have to say I’ve been converted and would opt for e-books.

PAPERBACK OR HARDBACK?
I LOVE hardbacks, if i was going to opt for a physical book I love the heftiness, solidity and chunk of a beautiful hardback. They look beautiful on my bookshelves too and are a little more hardy..

ONLINE OR IN-STORE SHOPPING?
So torn with this one! Clothes shopping online, food shopping online, but bookshops are so special (and fast disappearing), they are the most magical and incredible places to lose and hour, or two (and spend ALOT of money),but again lifestyle for me with a baby and a business means time is limited so- Online!And it is  very exciting receiving deliveries to your door!

TRILOGIES OR SERIES?
I can’t say I have read many of either if I am honest. But unless it was spectacular I would say trilogy so that I can reach an end. There are so many incredible new titles popping up so often, my heads easily turned!

HEROES OR VILLAINS?
I have to say villains- Whats more intriguing and interesting than a baddie? A psychopath or serial killer or just a nasty old so and so? I find these characters thrilling as I try to get inside their heads and understand them.

A BOOK YOU WANT EVERYONE TO READ?

THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN... MITCH ALBOM

TAG

RECOMMEND AN UNDERRATED BOOK?
SKINNY BITCH- God awful title (chosen I think to sell it, but it changed the way that i look at the food industry and resulted in me becoming a vegetarian. I didn’t particularly like the way it was written but by golly, it got the message across!

tag1

THE LAST BOOK YOU FINISHED?
SWEETPEA BY C.J SKUSE

image

WEIRDEST THING YOUVE USED AS A BOOKMARK?

A ruler!

USED BOOKS- YES OR NO?
I have nothing against used books, the story stays the same, and I have bought them,but theres nothing more special than a brand spanking new unopened book!

TOP THREE GENRES
Psychological thrillers
Contemporary fiction
Autobiographies

BORROW OR BUY?
Buy, buy, buy ( bye bye bye money )

CHARACTERS OR PLOT?
Eeeeek thats a tricky one? But I love getting to know characters and a character driven plot for me is the best! Is that cheating !?

SHORT OR LONG?
I enjoy reading mostly 300-450 page books, these are perfect for me, hold my attention, take me a couple of days , theres so much I want to read, however I read ‘The Lady of Hay’ by Barbara Erskine, one of my absolute favourite authors and this I think thiswas around 100 pages- well worth it though! I highly recommend.

LONG OR SHORT CHAPTERS?
I’m a bit funny in that I won’t put a book down mid chapter, the end of the chapter seems to logical place to call it a night. I would say short, they keep the story moving forward to if the chapters alternate between characters viewpoints or a point in time i.e.: now and then.

BOOK TO MOVIE OR TV ADAPTATION?
TV adaptation- always seem more authentic and true to the story rather than overly edited and sensationalised!

NAME THE FIRST 3 BOOKS YOU CAN THINK OF?

  1. PASSENGER19  by Ward Larson

book3

 

2) BEFORE THIS IS OVER By Amanda Hickey

netgalley2
3) BLACKOUT By Marc Elsberg

tag3
The reason- Im so,so excited to read these titles! I love post apocalyptic idea and I am a massive fan of THE WALKING DEAD for that reason, although not usually a horror or zombie kind of gal ( not book wise anyway), so Blackout and Before this is over are right up my street! Tales of surviving when the electricity goes off! And I love the idea of a vanishing flight and ensuing mystery so Passenger 19 again sounds like something I’m going to devour like a starving lion.

BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH OR CRY?

I love a book that either scares me or makes me laugh out loud… so I have to say from the is choice Laugh.

OUR WORLD OR FICTIONAL WORLDS?
Our world. I do like to be able to relate. But in truth I’ve never really read anything fantasy related, Im not righting it off though I’m she if I tried I would find some titles that I really enjoy.

DO YOU EVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER??
Guilty as charged! Always- Im a very visual, arty person and this is what first attracts me alongside the title before I turn the book over and read the blurb. Sorry! i know this is a no!no!no!

SERIES OR STAND ALONE
Standalone

I now am passing the Rapid Fire Book Tag gauntlet to these lovely
bloggers:

https://twitter.com/elsbookworld elsbookworld.wordpress.com
https://twitter.com/Mistimoobooks mistimoobookreview.co.uk
https://twitter.com/bookboutiqueM mariesbookboutique.wordpress.com

