SWEET PEA

imageTITLE: SWEET PEA

AUTHOR: CJ SKUSE

PUBLISHER: HQ STORIES

PUBLICATION DATE: 20th APRIL,2017

THE SYNOPSIS:

The last person who called me ‘sweetpea’ ended up dead…

I haven’t killed anyone for three years and I thought that when it happened again I’d feel bad. Like an alcholic taking a sip of whisky. But no. Nothing. I had a blissful night’s sleep. Didn’t wake up at all. And for once, no bad dream either. This morning I feel balanced. Almost sane, for once.Rhiannon is your average girl next door, settled with her boyfriend and little dog…but she’s got a killer secret.

Although her childhood was haunted by a famous crime, Rhinannon’s life is normal now that her celebrity has dwindled. By day her job as an editorial assistant is demeaning and unsatisfying. By evening she dutifully listens to her friend’s plans for marriage and babies whilst secretly making a list.
A kill list.
From the man on the Lidl checkout who always mishandles her apples, to the driver who cuts her off on her way to work, to the people who have got it coming, Rhiannon’s ready to get her revenge.
Because the girl everyone overlooks might be able to get away with murder…

MY REVIEW:

Thankyou to Netgalley and the publisher for allowing me pre -publication access to the title.

WOWSERS!!

Where do I start except to say,CJ Skuse is a brave new and modern voice that I am so glad to have discovered. In SWEETPEA Skuse produces an incredibly quirky and entertaining read, it’s a utterly eccentric and off beat- the personality of the writer shines through! It’s clever, it’s witty, you will LOL and you will gasp in horror! SWEETPEA is so, so very different from anything I’ve  personally encountered before and I’ve read widely…

This book WILL divide opinion, whether you love it or hate it, it will be the topic of much discussion…

I personally bloody loved it- observationaly it was SPOT.ON. A real Craic – You will relate to so much, even if you feel guilty admitting it! She could almost be your best friend!

Sweetpea is written from the perspective of a 27 year old serial killer, who is an incredible character! What an interesting parody- A psychopath with a wicked sense of humour! It’s LOL funny, controversial, witty and a very modern tale of murder most horrid by THE most unlikely perpetrator!

We spend lots of time with SWEETPEA and she makes for the funniest, most disturbing character I’ve ever had the pleasure to get to know. She is in some ways so ‘normal’, she eats Quavers, gorges on chocolate Eclaires then worries about her weight, she has a mundane day job, a boyfriend and a chichuana, and she watches the goggle. But she also has a filthy ‘ potty’ mouth, is a sexual deviant and a cold blooded murderer, who fantasizes about death on a regular basis. The normality of some aspects of her life makes it all the more shocking when she kills,one minute I was chuckling away to a brilliantly observed line and before I knew it my smile was wiped off my face As she was gruesomely ending someone’s life. It proved to be a delicious contrast.

I don’t want to include any spoilers but some of the deaths are beyond shocking and will leave you horrified but you will be smiling or laughing again before you know it! This crazy yo- yo’ing between humour and horror made for a novel experience and worked in perfect unison!

Its been described by other reviewers as Bridgette Jones meets Dexter, what an accurate comparison… I couldn’t have put it better myself!

Written in diary form her way of percieving the world and the humorous was she describes her thoughts relating to her observations and experiences , alongside her daily Kill list (comprised of some very annoying people who do very annoying things), like those who push past you in starbucks an make you say sorry! I found yourself nodding in agreement to the reason for their inclusion! You’ve meet these people, you know them- OH.DEAR… A psychopath serial killer who I felt at times I could actually relate to!

This book won’t be for everyone ( it really is a Marmite book) , it’s NOT for the conservative or the faint hearted- the language is from ‘the gutter’ ( put it this way it would give my grandma a stroke), the entire book is littered with profanities, its crude, over the top and bloody, but perfect for forward thinking, open minded readers, the narrative can be gruesome at times and some of the sexual references are extremely explicit. I love that Skuse has pushed the boundaries within her writing I n so many ways, fearlessly putting into print what others wouldn’t dare . Its a brave literary feat, and I am in awe of Skuse for this very reason.

Grab yourself a copy… And ENJOY!

