A WILD RIDE…

river    river   river   river   river

THE RIVER AT NIGHT By ERICA FERENCIK

THE SYNOPSIS…

WHY COULDN’T I JUST SAY YES TO CAMPING  TRIP WITH THREE OF MY BEST FRIENDS? WHAT WAS  I SO AFRAID OF?

Wini Allen doesn’t want adventures.

After a miserable divorce and the death of her beloved brother, she just wants to spend some time with her three best friends, far away from her soul crushing job. But athletic, energetic Pia has other plans.

Plans for an adrenaline-raising, breath taking, white- water rafting trip in the Maine wilderness. Five thousand square miles of remote countryside. Just mountains, rivers and fresh air.

No phone signal!No people.

No help…

MY REVIEW…

Firstly let me say I choose books the same way I choose wine- Its all in either the packaging or a friends recommendation.`

In this case it was the beautiful hardback cover and its incredible image, font and colours that made my eyes pop out,Im a sucker for an attractive cover! And I love this one, it successfully sold the book to me from the shelf

Then it was the overview that that had me, it sounded like an amazing read, I mean who wouldn’t grab the book and head straight for the till after reading that incredible synopsis,  it also sounded like something a little bit different to anything I have read recently and I was right!

Like The descriptions of the river at night this tale begins relatively slowly, calm waters that only hint of tensions under the surface, and then slowly they begin to bubble, and rise to the surface, until the pace picks up, the waters gets choppy, and everything starts speeding up to a dangerous pace taking you along with it for the ride! I felt I climbed aboard not quite knowing where the adventure would take me and then got caught up, thrown around on a thought provoking and terrifying journey with plenty of surprises along the way before being spat out at the end- Thinking WOW and feeling I had just experienced one hell of a white knuckle ride…

Above and beyond anything it is wonderfully written with Beautifully descriptive prose and words that capture perfectly the experience the writer wants to convey.

THE RIVER AT NIGHT is a compelling story that explores friendships and relationships alongside survival, and Erica creates a  tension that builds very cleverly through her vivid  and robust use of language.

I  didn’t just read this story, I smelt,felt and experienced it alongside Pia, Wini and their friends-  and that no doubt is the calling card of a highly skilled and accomplished writer.

I found the story line to be well paced and exciting, and definitely experienced numerous heart pounding, breath holding adrenaline rushes as this novel spiralled into a dark and violent tale that had me enthralled.

I have to say it is one of THE best novels I have read and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who like a book that rivets them

