NOBODY KNOW WHAT HAPPENS…

book1

WHAT THE BACK COVER SAYS…

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.

You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult.

Because you realise they are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

MY REVIEW…

Now because I like to live dangerously, never one to follow the crowd, I didn’t let the Amazon reviews put me off. The title, cover image and back cover synopsis appealed to me so I happily made my purchase- I am so glad I went with my instinct, I loved this debut novel by B A Paris and wil be keeping my eyes peeled for her next title.

As a seasoned reader I now know very quickly as I begin a new book whether it will keep me engaged. Regardless of whether it does or not I persevere as I have been proved wrong on occasion whether the storyline has turned itself around a few chapters in, this said Behind closed doors had me hooked from the get go.

I loved this book, it was tense and well paced and kept me up well past my bedtime!!

I found that I didn’t want to put it down and I raced through it very quickly  desperate to know what was  in store for Grace and her sister. From page one the atmosphere builds,all the cues are there that not all is as it seems… It’s too good to be true and too perfect. Paris creates an undertone of tension and a sense of unease for the reader. I couldn’t put my finger on it exactly, but it was a tantalising taste of what was to come- with little hints that there are undercurrents of control and that this marriage is not quite what it first appears. This fast paced psychological rollercoster had my pulse racing, jam packed full of surprises and plot twists that were both unexpected and clever. Paris quickly had me rooting for her protagonist Grace, who had been fooled into a ‘false’ marriage to the seemingly charming, handsome Jack, who sadly turns out to be a hateful, controlling and manipulative sociopath. I became so emotionally involved with Grace that at times my inner voice  was screaming ‘noooo’ each time she attempts to escape, knowing the consequences for her would be more than unpleasant.

I couldn’t help but ask ‘what if’, what if I found myself in the same horrifying position (luckily this is highly unlikely as I have been married to my lovely hubby for a good few years now and all is well!!) .This is scary stuff, a nightmare scenario where her husband is able to convince the outside world that theirs is the perfect marriage while playing mind games, to rule Grace, keeping her under complete submission using fear to mess with her psyche until she is under his complete control. I think his character is brilliantly portrayed.

Behind closed doors both thrilled and excited me… If you love to feel your pulse gallop, and your an adrenaline junkie read this book and enjoy the ride!

