MAD ABOUT THE BOOK

AMAZON SAYS:

untitled (39)

AMAZON SAYS:

Is it morally wrong to have a blow-dry when one of your children has head lice?

Is technology now the fifth element? Or is that wood?

Is sleeping with someone after 2 dates and 6 weeks of texting the same as getting married after 2 meetings and 6 months of letter writing in Jane Austen’s day?

Pondering these, and other modern dilemmas, Bridget Jones stumbles through the challenges of single-motherhood, tweeting, texting and rediscovering her sexuality in what SOME people rudely and outdatedly call ‘middle age’.

The long-awaited return of a much-loved character, Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy is timely, tender, touching, witty, wise and bloody hilarious.

Sadly this book has received some disappointing reviews on Amazon, but having LOVED the first two Bridgette Jones Diary and Bridgette Jones: The edge of reason. I decided I owed it to myself to open the book with an open mind, and I am so glad that I did. Bridgette continues to cause much chaos and hilarity and so it was as another reviewer wrote: ‘Like catching up with an old friend’. If a book can actually make you laugh out loud then I believe it can only be a good thing- right? I was able to relate very well to my beloved Bridgette, as a flappy, slightly disorganised mother with a very hectic life I found many similarities between us. Bridgette remains young at heart and refuses to grow older or wiser and this makes her muddle of a life all the more funny. Helen Fielding has continued with a character we know and love- a likeable, real-life character whose endless disasters and high jinx offer a funny, light hearted and entertaining read. It wouldn’t be Bridgette Jones if she got herself organised and all sensible now would it!

Its not all laughs though- some bit are serious and as the reader I felt sad as Bridgette struggled with the loss of Mark Darcy and bringing up two young children alone, this succeeds in adding another layer of depth to the narrative.

I would highly recommend this to any of my female friends- Perfect for curling up with on a dark, cold winters night or equally as fabulous for an easy holiday read while relaxing on the beach. Well done Helen Fielding you have done it again- A perfect Bridgette trilogy as far as I am concerned. I enjoyed this book equally as much as the first two and would be VERY excited to find out the forth was to be released!

 

 

